PHOTOGRAPHY – Yusuke Sakai “Salaryman Blues”

“This work of mine is aimed at a Japanese businessman, with white-collar workers.
Every day we beat the blues rhythm.
Every day, one after the other, they occupy the mind, loads of work.
Every day my effort increases.
Every time I pass a certain level of fatigue, however, I stop myself tired.
What I see is out of my feeling life,
sipping a nutritional drink while I beat a keyboard?
There is the world in my heart.
The noise of today’s life is the foreign world.
I am distracted looking at myself in the world.
I’m looking at me, without any conscience.
This work is my self-portrait, recorded within my heart. ”

Yusuke Sakai
(Born in 1984, Japan, Osaka.)

We propose this emerging artist, known at the Mediterraneum photo fest of Syracuse a few years ago, which highlights an aspect that today troubles us all.

His words sound clear and put you in the condition of being able to connect the daily routine of the work to Blues music with a perfect metaphor that creates lots of food for thought. His work is characterized by a strong minimalism that makes it very modern and suitable for the transmission of a content (perhaps an alarm) that refers to our contemporaneity.

Do we live to work, or do we only work to live?


Images Copyright: Yusuke Sakai